Sam Wilkins, Keegan Coon named All-Americans

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

BENNINGTON — Mount Anthony wrestlers Keegan Coon and Sam Wilkins have been named as All-American honorable mention recipients for their stellar performances on the mat during the 2019-2020 season. The senior duo led the charge for Mount Anthony's 32nd straight state title.

Both wrestlers were individual state champions for the Patriots, Wilkins wrestling at 195 pounds and Coon capturing the state title at 138 pounds.

Wilkins is one of 10 people in the history of Vermont wrestling to four-peat as an individual state champion. Coon was right behind his teammate, winning three state titles himself during his career at MAU.

Wilkins also won the regional championship this past season, defeating Pelham, N.H. wrestler Conor Maslanek in the final round of the 195-pound New England tournament. Coon placed fourth in this years regional tournament.

Article Continues After Advertisement

This is the third time Wilkins has been named an All-American. The wrestling standout also received the honor in 2019 after placing eighth overall in the 195-pound nationals junior bracket. The first time Wilkins was named an All-American was after his freshmen season, where he placed seventh in nationals in the 170-pound bracket.

Article Continues After These Ads

This is Coon's first All-American nomination.

All-American recipients are normally reserved for wrestlers who place in the top-eight during the national tournament. This years tournament was canceled due to the coronavrius.

Wilkins was also named as the winner of the Dave Schultz High School Excellence Award for the state of Vermont.

Article Continues After Advertisement

The award recognizes and celebrates the nation's most outstanding high school senior male wrestlers for their excellence in wrestling, scholastic achievement, citizenship, and community service.

The National Wrestling Hall of Fame announced the award winners for each state on Thursday.

"We're excited to recognize another group of young men, who have excelled not only on the wrestling mat, but also in the classroom and in their communities," said Hall of Fame Executive Director Lee Roy Smith. "I want to thank our selection committee for the thorough work they have done in determining this year's winners. We look forward to following these young men as they chart new goals for themselves on the mat and in their lives."


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions