Northshire Live author events continue through August

Posted
Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

MANCHESTER — Northshire Live, Northshire Bookstore's series of virtual discussions with authors and guests, offers a full slate of events through the month of August.

Full event information is available at northshire.com/upcoming-events. All Northshire Live events are ticketed, most on a "pay-what-you-can" basis.

On Aug. 4 at 5 p.m., Northshire Live features Megan Giddings, author of "Lakewood," in conversation with Maisy Card, author of "These Ghosts Are Family." "Lakewood," Giddings' debut novel about class and race, evokes a terrifying world of medical experimentation — part "The Handmaid's Tale," part "The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks." Card's debut novel "These Ghosts Are Family," is one of Buzz Magazine's "Top New Books of the New Decade."

On Aug. 6 at 5 p.m., Northshire's booksellers will present a special evening of book recommendations and conversations. Booksellers from both Northshire locations in Manchester and Saratoga Springs, N.Y., will host a friendly meetup and tell you about their recent favorite books.

On Aug. 10 at 1 p.m., Jeff Kinney, the author of the "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" series, will visit Northshire Bookstore on his "Awesome Friendly Socially Distant Bus Tour." Tickets will entitle one child and one adult companion to receive curbside delivery of a signed copy of "Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Adventure" and a photo opportunity. There will be a line with clearly marked 6-foot spacing outside the bookstore. Everyone over the age of 2 is required to wear a mask and respect social distancing and guidance from booksellers.

Article Continues After Advertisement

All books will be pre-signed. Due to health restrictions, there will be no personalization at this event, and you may not bring books from home to be signed. Signed copies of Jeff's other books will be available for purchase at check-in.

On Aug. 11 at 5 p.m., Megha Majumdar will speak about her New York Times best-seller, "A Burning." Majumdar will be in conversation with Northshire events manager Dafydd Wood. For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise —to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies — and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.

Article Continues After These Ads

On Aug. 12 at 5 p.m, Lisa Selin Davis will present "Tomboy: The Surprising History and Future of Girls Who Dare to be Different." She will be in conversation with her editor, Krishan Trotman.

On Aug. 13 at 8 p.m., Mauro Guill n, author of "2030: How Today's Biggest Trends Will Collide and Reshape the Future of Everything," will be in conversation with Simon Johnson, noted economist and economic crisis expert Simon Johnson, co-author of "Jump-Starting America." "2030" is a groundbreaking analysis from one of the world's foremost experts on global trends, including analysis on how COVID-19 will amplify and accelerate each of these changes.

On Aug. 18 at 5 p.m., cookbook author and memoirist Cree LeFavour will present her debut novel "Private Means, in conversation with New York Times book critic Dwight Garner. At once dark, funny, sexy and suspenseful, "Private Means" is a rare find: a tart literary indulgence with depth and intelligence.

Article Continues After Advertisement

On Aug. 20 at 5 p.m.. J. R. Ward, the author of more than 30 novels, will present her new book, "The Jackal." Written by the author of "The Sinner," "The Jackal" brings another hot adventure of true love and ultimate sacrifice in the Black Dagger Brotherhood world. The event ticket includes a new hardcover copy of "The Jackal" signed, personalized, and mailed to your home, a customer letter opener, and online access to the event for your household.

On Aug. 25 at 5 p.m., Martha Ackmann, author of "These Fevered Days: Ten Pivotal Moments in the Making of Emily Dickinson," will discuss the Amherst poet with Marta McDowell, author of "Emily Dickinson's Gardening Life: The Plants and Places that Inspired the Iconic Poet."

On Aug. 27 at 5 p.m., author Kerri Arsenault will present Northshire staff favorite "Mill Town: Reckoning with What Remains." A galvanizing and powerful debut, Mill Town is an American story, a human predicament, and a moral wake-up call that asks: what are we willing to tolerate and whose lives are we willing to sacrifice for our own survival?

For more information on these or other events, e-mail events@northshire.com, or visit the Northshire Bookstore website at www.northshire.com.


TALK TO US

If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.




Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions