Local voters will see contested races

Editor's note: George A. Sleeman withdrew from the race for Bennington School Board on Tuesday morning, according to Bennington Town Clerk Cassandra Barbeau, and his name will not appear on the ballot. In addition, the names of two Pownal candidates, Julie Weber and Tammy Sohl, were omitted in a previous version of this story.

BENNINGTON — Voters will see some contested races for town offices when they head to the polls in March.

Monday was the deadline for candidates to submit a petition for elected town office. Town Meeting Day is March 6.

In Bennington, it will be a three-way race for two open seats on the Select Board. Incumbents Donald Campbell, now serving as vice chairman, and Jim Carroll will both seek another three-year term. They're facing opponent William H. Stewart.

On the Bennington School Board, Meridy Leibrock-Capella and George A. Sleeman are seeking re-election to three-year terms. Also vying for the two open seats will be Jodie Hudson and Katrina Carey Snide.

On the Mount Anthony Union High School Board, Amy Dobson is seeking a three-year seat for Bennington now held by Kevin Goodhue. Running unopposed are incumbents Nelson Brownell, Pownal; David K. Durfee, Shaftsbury; and Ron Higgins, Woodford.

Seeking re-election to three-year terms on the Southwest Vermont Regional Technical School District will be Robert Bahny, Jon Gauthier, Jackie Kelly, who now serves as clerk, and Edward Letourneau, who now serves as vice chairman.

In Pownal, Select Board member Suzanne Caraman will seek re-election to another three-year term. Two other candidates will seek that seat: Bob Jarvis and Mike George. Seeking two open one-year seats will be incumbents Ronald Bisson and Bruce Martell, as well as Jenny Dewar and Brandon Jacobson.

Town treasurer Ellen Strohmaier is seeking re-election to a three-year term and is being challenged by Priscilla Maxon.

Julie Weber, the assistant town clerk, is unopposed for a three-year term as town clerk. Incumbent Karen Burrington is not seeking re-election.

Tammy Sohl is seeking a one-year term as lister.

On the Pownal School Board, Cindy Brownell is seeking another three-year term. Incumbent Angie Rawlings is seeking another one-year term.

In Shaftsbury, two will face-off for a three-year seat on the Select Board: Tim Scoggins, an incumbent now serving as chairman, and Ed Corey. Seeking another two-year term is Arthur Whitman.

Treasurer Melanie Dexter is seeking another three-year term. She will face opponent Holly Snow Bahan. Town Clerk Marlene Barriere Hall is seeking another three-year term. Bahan is also seeking that position.

In Arlington, Cynthia Browning seeks another two-year seat on the Select Board. Seeking another three-year seat is Daniel Harvey. Robert Zink is seeking a one-year term on the Arlington School Board.

Interviews with candidates in contested races will appear closer to election day.

Town meeting day warnings and notices must be posted 30 days ahead of the annual meeting, per the Secretary of State's office.

Ed Damon can be reached at edamon@benningtonbanner.com, at @edamon_banner on Twitter and 802-447-7567, ext. 111.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions