Local office races take shape

STAMFORD — Local elections are beginning to take shape: Voters in another Bennington County town will see contested races when they head to the polls in March.

In Bennington, one candidate has withdrawn from his race a day after the deadline for petitions.

Stamford will see contested races for the Select Board and School Board, according to Town Clerk Lori A. Shepard.

Jim Stimpson and Chris Warren are both running for a three-year seat on the Select Board that is now held by David R. Tatro, who is not seeking another term. Daniel J. Potvin is running unopposed for another two-year term.

Helen Francis Fields and Kelly Holland are both running for an open three-year term on the School Board. Jessica Bugbee holds that seat and is not seeking re-election. Barbara Malinowski is running unopposed for another two-year term.

George A. Sleeman had returned papers for another three-year term on the Bennington School Board. Sleeman withdrew from the race on Tuesday morning, according to Bennington Town Clerk Cassandra Barbeau, and his name will not appear on the ballot.

There are two open three-year seats. Incumbent Meridy Leibrock-Capella is seeking re-election. Also in the running will be Jodie Hudson and Katrina Carey Snide.

Sunderland will see a contested race for delinquent tax collector. Richard Davis, II is running against incumbent Kathleen C. Morse for the one-year position. On the Select Board, Jon W. French is seeking another three-year term and Steven Bendix, another one-year term. Melanie Virgilio is running to fill a now vacant one-year term.

Monday was the deadline for candidates to submit a petition for elected town office. Town Meeting Day is March 6. Town meeting day warnings and notices must be posted 30 days ahead of the annual meeting, per the Secretary of State's office.

In Manchester, Town Clerk Anita Sheldon reported that only incumbents had filed papers to run for re-election. They include town meeting moderator L. Michael Nawrath for a one-year term; select board vice chair Wayne E. Bell for a three-year term; select board member Greg Cutler for a two-year term; and town treasurer David L. Fielding Jr., trustee of public funds Donald Brodie, and town clerk Anita Sheldon for three-year terms.

Also, two members of the Manchester School Board, Joe Hoffman and Dave Miceli, are running for re-election. While the board is expected to hand over its authority to the new Taconic & Green school district on July 1, the Manchester board will still require duly elected members to carry out its remaining business, such as the dispersal of school property to the new district.

In Dorset, incumbent Henry Chandler is seeking another three-year Select Board seat. And incumbents Megan Thorn and Liz Ruffa are seeking re-election to one-year terms.

In Woodford, races will be uncontested. Ryan Thurber seeks another three-year Select Board seat. Incumbent Mark Tilley is running unopposed for another three-year term on the School Board. Glenn Thurber is running for an open lister position, two years from a remaining three-year term.

Interviews with candidates in contested races will appear closer to election day.

Greg Sukiennik contributed reporting for this story.

Ed Damon can be reached at edamon@benningtonbanner.com, at @edamon_banner on Twitter and 802-447-7567, ext. 111.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions