Dodging raindrops, Goldsmith tournament a success


BENNINGTON — If the finals of the 11th annual Lee Goldsmith soccer tournament are any indications of how the fall season will go locally, it will be a fun one to watch.

As Mount Anthony and Burr and Burton faced off on a bright sunny pitch after big rain showers earlier in the day, for the first time it went to overtime and then to penalty kicks as BBA won 2-1 (2-1 on penalties).

"It's the unofficial start to the fall and practice begins on Thursday," said tournament organizer and Mount Anthony varsity boys soccer coach Mike Molloy. "This is a fun tuneup to get ready for the season."

Five teams — two Mount Anthony sides and one each from Burr and Burton, Cambridge and Rutland — were in attendance, the same as last year.

"The blue team [Mount Anthony 2] is mostly freshmen," Molloy said. "They can do this for the next four years. The maximum amount they can do it is four years. THe biggest ever tournament we had was 8 teams, I think we had multiple BBA, multiple Rutland and three MAU teams."

The kids choose the rosters and coach themselves, the adults have mostly secondary roles.

"They pick who plays and what position, they coach," Molloy said. "All we do is set up the fields and get the referees."

Article Continues After These Ads

The four referees who came and volunteered their time for the tournament were Dave Krawczyk, Doug Esch, George Brown and Bob Houle.

"We can't do it without those guys," Molloy said.

Mick Goldsmith, the father of Lee, the tournament namesake, always referees the final and Saturday was no exception.

"The Goldsmith family comes down, they always give us tremendous support every year. It's something we always look forward to," Molloy said.

Jeremy O'Neill, an assistant on the varsity, helps Molloy organize as well.

"I wasn't sure exactly where we were [Friday], I got a message asking and I said I don't know [if we're ready], but if we aren't, we will be," Molloy said. "Jeremy had finished up the fields, the goals were down. We know what we have to do, we've got it pretty much set."

The rosters of the champion Burr and Burton team include Walker Brown, Andrew Toussaint, Phoenix Heleba, Karter Noyes, Jayden Bloom, Devin Deets, Liam Day, Bailey Desroberts, Luke Lehmann and Kai Hocker.

For the runner-up Mount Anthony 1 squad, the roster consists of Ayden Parizo, Nathan Potter, Jordan Gardner, Charlie Dodson, Ryan Sherman, Giovanni Gino, Randy Armstrong, Reiss Forest, Cameron Cummings and Eric Whitman.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions