Class notes


Local students recognized

Daniel Collette, from Bennington and a student at the Career Development Center was awarded a Skill Point Certificate in Criminal Justice at the 2019 SkillsUSA Championships, held in Louisville, Kentucky, on June 26-27.

Stephany Bradley, Molly Fleming, Diego Munoz Ochoa, Frankie Pearson, Renee St. Hilaire of Hoosick Falls, New York, Kevin Ingraham or North Bennington and Hannah Cochran of Pownal graduated from the University of Albany at the University at Albany's 175th commencement.

James Marsden was named to the dean's list at the University of Virginia's College and Graduate School of Arts & Sciences for the spring semester 2019.

Maj. Gen. Ray Shields, the adjutant general for the State of New York, announces the recent promotion of members of the New York Army National Guard in recognition of their capability for additional responsibility and leadership. Barry Linendoll from Cambridge, New York, and assigned to the Company C, 2-108th Infantry received a promotion to the rank of private.

Aimee Louise Dowling of Stamford has been named to the president's list at Western New England University for the spring 2019 semester.

Evangeline Morrison, from Manchester Center, is now a member of the class of 2023 at Loyola University Maryland.

Students graduate from GIV

Article Continues After These Ads

Jaden Cross and Audrianna Ennis of Arlington Memorial High School, Sam Bottoms and Cade Morris of Long Trail School, and Lucas Corey of Mount Anthony Union High School graduated from the Governor's Institutes of Vermont this summer. GIV hosts intensive, hands-on learning experience for young artists and learners on college campuses throughout Vermont. These programs provide the opportunity for students to dig into a topic they are passionate about, experience life on a college campus, and make new friends from all over the state.

Hoosac School announces honor roll

Hoosac School announces the third trimester honor roll for the 2018-19 school year:

High honors: Luka Andrijasevic (Serbia), Takanobu Aoki (Japan), Emre Bayram (Turkey), Dawit Bekele (Ethiopia), Gavin Belton (North Carolina), Henrique Bento (Brazil), Bojana Borovic (Serbia), Ronald Bregante (Mastic Beach), Riley Burns (Hoosick), Constantinos Constantinides (Cyprus), Hunter Cunningham (Texas), Lucas Da Silva Galdino (Brazil), Simon Delden (United Arab Emirates), Jayne Dolinsky (Florida), Kuanlin Du (China), Jerry Duckett (Holtsville), Amuruche Enwereji (Nigeria), Cameron Ewing (Petersburg), Colton Foster (Hoosick), Ragy Gabra (Egypt), Ezra Gale (California), Sophia Gocio (Saratoga Springs), Jacob Greenholz (Port Washington), Jiayi Gui (China), Yuanyuan Guo (China), Anyu Hu (China), Lei Hu (China), Minqi Hu (China), Rong Hu (China), Sihan Jia (China), Shangchen Ju (China), Alper Kilci (Turkey), Daur Kozhemzharov (Kazakhstan), Petar Krivokuca (Serbia), Lynsey Lancaster (Troy), Mikiyas Lema (Ethiopia), Can Li (China), Mingrun Li (China), Xiaolin Li (China), ZhengJie Liu (China), Zeming Lu (China), Ziang Lu (China), Olivia Luo (Holtsville), Leah Magee (Albany), Ivana Malbasa (Serbia), Rafael Martini ((Brazil), Emma McGuane (Castleton), Thomas Meister (Brazil), Mateja Milicevic (Serbia), Chuer Ming ( China), Elyssa Miranda-Lavertu (California), Olga Mladenovic (Serbia), Madelyn Morgan (California), Itay Mostovoy (Israel), Rifat Nassyrov (Kazakhstan), Junrui Ning (China), Selin Oncul (Turkey), Ovguhan Ozkan (Turkey), Salih Ozuak (Turkey), Maria Pais (Pennsylvania), Dmitrii Pak (Russia), Stanislav Pak (Russia), Yiwen Pan (China), Jaimee Phelps (Petersburg), Melod Pirzoda (Tajikistan), Evelyn Pryadkin (Pennsylvania), Pavle Radulovic (Serbia), Seth Robinson (Massachusetts), Samantha Rodriguez (California), Yan Rosado (Dominican Republic), Elias Sahile (Ethiopia), Jordan Salzano (Lake Ronkonkoma), David Savic ((Serbia), Eleftheria Siolas (Carmel), Aleksa Stefanovic (Serbia), Vanja Stjepanovic (Serbia), Ling Sun (China), Indrek Sunelik (Estonia), Sebastian Tigerhielm (Sweden), Ciara Tonic (Oneonta), Ezio Antonio Vaccari (Italy), Mustafo Vanjov (Tajikistan), Bauer Ward (Hoosick), Ireland Ward (Hoosick), Tian Wu (China), Zheng Xiang (China), Hongyi Xiong (China), Zenan Xue (China), Nanxin Yan (China), Jiayin Yang (China), An Dong Ni Ye (China), Jingchen Yuan (China), Chen Zadik (Israel), Yiqi Zhang (China), Bowen Zheng (China), and Heyang Zhou (China).

Honors: Saron Alemu (Ethiopia), Borivoje Bigovic (Serbia), Delfin Bilgic (Turkey), Selim Buldanlioglu (Turkey), Sergej Cagronov (Serbia), Haotian Chen (China), JinHao Chen (China), Luis Coutinho (Brazil), Ryan Davis (Canada), Tyler Drummond (Baldwin), Uros Gatic (Serbia), Andreas Himonas (Cyprus), Antoine Lefebvre (Canada), Zhuangli Li (China), Yiyi Long (China), Cooper O'Neil (Massachusetts), Jianuo Pan (China), Ronald Paragallo (Huntington), Noah Patry-Dontigny (Canada), Gabriel Pigeon (Canada), Bogdan Radosavljevic (Serbia), Kamal Shaaban (Kuwait), Georgy Slobodskoy (Russia), and Caitlin Welsh (South Carolina).

Cambridge welcomes new AP

Cambridge (New York) Central School District has announced that Jerry Gibson has been selected as the district's elementary school associate principal. Gibson was appointed to the position at the July 8, 2019 board of education meeting, and began his duties with the district on Aug. 15.

Gibson began his educational career over ten years ago, and was most recently a third grade elementary special education teacher at Mechanicville Elementary School for the past seven years. He has been honored as a NYS Senate Teacher of Excellence Award recipient in 2016, and was nominated as a News Channel 13 Top Teacher in 2018.

Gibson earned his bachelor's degree in childhood education and special education from the College of Saint Rose in 2008. He continued at the College of Saint Rose and completed his master's degree in literacy in 2010. Mr. Gibson's passion for working with children and advocating for many students and families, motivated him to further his career by completing his certificate of advanced study in building level and district level leadership in 2019.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions