Budget approved in Woodford


The voters of Woodford approved the town's budget of $145,522.44 by a wide margin on Tuesday.

The budget, which was approved 52-7, does not include the $30,000 for the town's Highway Fund, which was approved at the polls 55-4, or the $21,951 that was approved on Monday at the town's floor meeting for the financial assistance of local services. The general fund budget is up 3.58 percent from the total approved by voters in 2017, $140,307.21. The 2017 highway budget was $30,000, identical to this year's total, and the financial assistance for local services line was $21,861, $90 lower than this year's amount.

There were no contested races for town offices. Select Board chairman Ryan Thurber was re-elected to his position with 50 votes. One voter wrote in Ron Higgins, while eight left their ballots blank for that race.

Linda Dovitski was elected to a three-year term as lister and Glenn Thurber was elected to fill the remaining two years of a three year term as a lister. Wayne Tifft and Thomas Slee were elected as the town's first and second constables, respectively. Dick Frantz was chosen once again as the town moderator. Kathy Slee was elected to a three-year term as auditor.

There were several races with no candidates at all, and no write-in candidates received more than one or two votes. These positions were town agent, grand juror, and the two years remaining on a three-year auditor term.

Derek Carson can be reached at dcarson@benningtonbanner.com, at @DerekCarsonBB on Twitter and 802-447-7567, ext. 122.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions