Bellows Falls blanks BBA, move to final

MIDDLEBURY — The No. 4 Burr and Burton field hockey team fell 3-0 to No. 1 seed Bellows Falls on Monday night in the Division II semifinals at Middlebury College.

Bellows Falls, going for its third straight Vermont state championship, scored the first two goals in the first half. In defeat, Hannah Cullen had 10 saves for the Bulldogs.

"Today's game was a great game, one of our best [of the season]," said BBA coach Barb Miceli. "The Bellows Falls coaches agreed that it was a great game. We held them [scoreless] until late in the first half, when they scored two quick ones."

Burr and Burton finishes the season at 7-7-2 after the Bulldogs' first semifinal appearance since 2015.

"The girls have improved their skill and endurance and teamwork throughout the season, they felt like they belonged there and playing with [the Terriers], especially with the young team we had," Miceli said.

Mount Anthony's Page, Umphlett qualify for regionals

THETFORD — At Saturday's Vermont state cross-country meet at Thetford Academy, a pair of Mount Anthony runners qualified for the New England meet with their finishes.

On the boys side, Evan Page finished 10th in Division I and 13th overall in a time of 17 minutes, 36.4 seconds, punching his ticket for the regionals, which will take place on November 11 in Maine.

The top 25 individual finishes, regardless of division, qualify for the New England meet.

On the girls side, MAU's Sarah Umphlett was 19th in Division I and 25th overall, finishing the race in 21:13.7 — qualifying for regionals by 0.1 second.

Two other local runners, Stratton Mountain School's Anna Lehmann and Arlington's Thayer Hoyt, also reached the regional. Lehmann was sixth overall in Division I in 20:31.5 and Hoyt was seventh in Division III in 18:43.2.

The Mount Anthony girls were eighth as a team in D-I, with Paige Greenawalt, Maggie Payne, Sarahi Villa Arreguin and Morgan Prouty filling the rest of the scoring spots. The Burr and Burton girls were fifth in Division II, led by Emma Tschaikowsky's 12th place finish (22:43.3).

The rest of the scorers included Maggie Brown, Harriet Dahlstrom, Suzanne Allen and Osha Benson Langstaff-French.

In D-III, Arlington's Kaleigh Ward was the only Eagles' runner, finishing 30th in 25:11.7.

The Mount Anthony boys were ninth as a team, with Shawn Tobin, Anthony Mazzola, Asa Burrows-Crane and Noah Payne. The Burr and Burton boys were 10th as a team, led by Matty Sullivan's 20:19.4. The rest of the scorers for Boden Morris, Brandon Perra, Joe Sagno and Sean Foley.

Information Meeting for Prospect Mountain Bill Koch Youth Ski League

WOODFORD — The Prospect Mountain Bill Koch Youth Ski League will hold an informational meeting and ski/gear swap for new and returning families on November 11 at 4 p.m. at Prospect Mountain Nordic Center on Route 9 in Woodford.

The ski and gear swap (selling gently used skis, boots, poles and relevant clothing) will start at 4 p.m. in the Lodge, and will be followed by an information meeting about the Bill Koch Youth Ski League at 4:30. The meeting will provide an opportunity for prospective families to learn about the Bill Koch Youth Ski League, a cross country ski program for youth ages 4-13. The program introduces young people to the life-long sport of cross country skiing with all of its recreational, social, fitness and competitive opportunities. The program attracts children and families from nearby communities in Vermont, Massachusetts and New York.

The Prospect Mountain Bill Koch League practices every Tuesday and Thursday afternoon at Prospect Mountain in Woodford. Practices will begin on December 12 and will run through early March. Interested families attending the meeting on November 11 can register for the Program at that time, and there will be skis, boots and poles available for lease for those participating in Program.

For more information, please contact Katie Swabey at 413-664-7711 or

Vermont football all-stars

MIDDLEBURY — The top senior high school football players in Vermont will take the gridiron for the 17th annual North-South Senior All-Star Football Game to be held Saturday, November 18 at Middlebury College's Youngman Field-Alumni Stadium. The rosters for the annual all-star game were announced over the weekend.

Kickoff is slated for at 12:30 p.m. for the 17th annual contest that will conclude the fall Vermont high school athletic season. Tickets are $10 for adults and $7 for students, and will be available at the gate starting an hour prior to game time. All proceeds benefit the scholarship and grant programs of the Vermont Chapter of the National Football Foundation.

All 31 of the state's high school football programs from all three divisions are represented on the rosters, that are subject to change prior to the game. Head coaches are Lonnie Wade of North Country for the North and Springfield's Rich Saypack of Springfield will lead the South staff.

Burr and Burton's Cameron Hedberg, Bryce Little, Jay McCoy, Rach Robinson, Connor Simonds and Mark Wade were chosen to represent the South, as were Mount Anthony's Will Fischer and Aaron Mattison.

Other members of the South roster include: Shane Clark, Logan Cota and Jared Zobkin of Bellows Falls; During Hoyer and Isaiah Gilbeau of Brattleboro; ; Drew Eddy, Austin Ellis, Tim Fyles, Seth Parks and Jacob Stoodley of Fair Haven; Tyler Hamilton, Hunter Perkins and Kody Rhodes of Hartford; Jack Deppman, Brian Foote, Tyler Hotte, Jaro Perera and Cody Pomainville of Middlebury; Brian Eaton and Nate Kapusta of Mill River; Parson Williams of Otter Valley; James Mars of Poultney/Mount Saint Joseph; Brendan Crossman, Jared Migliorie, Dylan Moore and Austin Pear of Rutland; Matt LaChappelle and Mason Olney of Springfield; Seth Batch, Duncan Frazer, Ben Meagher, Dakota Page and Jacob Tucker of Windsor; Pat Potter, Brendan Schwartz, and Elliot Shoemaker of Woodstock.

The North roster consists of: Nate Selby of BFA Fairfax (Lamoille); Ben Bruso, Tucker Gaudette, Griffin Knapp, Nate Parady and Nate Wilson of BFA St. Albans; Gunnar Bierbaum, Ryan Mitchell, Nelson Myal and Brody Snow of Burlington; Jacob Bortnick of Champlain Valley; Steven Cadieux, Stephen Emmons, Zach Morin and Andrew Spencer of Colchester; Samuel Couture, Jordan Hines, Brendan McCormick and Alexey Rizvanov of Essex; Justin Duncanson of Lyndon; Trent Cross, Seth Herrity, Nick Johnson and Tre Sherwood of Milton; Hunter Tardy of Missisquoi Valley; Casey Kimball of Mount Abraham/Vergennes; Griffin Erickson, Adam Fischer and Sylas Hallock of Mount Mansfield; Kaine Gray, Skylar Stone and Justin Wade of North Country; Greg Bolger, Cavan Lamontagne and Alex Ritchie of Rice; Shane Alercio, Jake Choiniere, Tom Emery, Jasper Rankin and Mat Roy of Saint Johnsbury; Andrew Cunningham of South Burlington; Matteo Perantoni of Spaulding; Logan Wolf and Cooper Lamb of Union-32.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions