Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

Irene and Bing Hunter Memorial Golf Tournament is June 14

MANCHESTER -- For 12 years, Long Trail School has hosted the Irene and Bing Hunter Memorial Golf Tournament in support of scholarships. A testament to the Hunters’ philanthropic efforts to assist area children, this year’s event will be on Saturday, June 14, at The Golf Club at The Equinox.

An 8:30 a.m. shotgun start will send golfers out for a great day and a great cause. This is a fun-filled tournament for players of all levels.

There are multiple prizes and contests to enjoy as we raise money to support achievements in learning. Irene and Bing Hunter established a legacy of philanthropy which extends into many parts of life in the Northshire and beyond; this tournament recognizes one of their many valued causes.

The entry fee includes an Equinox luncheon in addition to the round of play.

Whether you are an individual or have a favorite foursome, all are welcome to sign up in support of student scholarships. For more information and the registration form, click on the LTS Golf Tournament button at, or call Kim Rizio at 802-867-5717, ext. 147.

The tournament is brought to you by lead sponsors Legg Mason Investment Counsel, Clinton Gilbert Jr., Hugh Johnson Advisors, Express Copy, GSK Climate Control, Merrill Lynch & Beth Alden, The Weinstein Group, Vermont Store Fixture Corporation and William T. Burns Insurance. Arlington Memorial High School and Middle School Honor Roll Third Quarter 2013-14

ARLINGTON -- Arlington Memorial Middle and High School announces the following names in recognition of their third quarter grades.

To qualify for Honor Roll status, students must meet GPA requirements.

Principal’s Honors are awarded to the student who has achieved the highest GPA in the class. The Accelerated Program offers a highly rigorous course of study for middle school students.

Grade 12 Principal’s Honors: Bhumika Patel

High Honors: Cathy Farrell

Honors: Caitlin Saunders, Christopher Daniels, Aric Rhodes.

Grade 11 Principal’s Honors: Jesse Keel High

Honors: Lee Krulikowski, Olivia Andrew, Julia Lacoste, Molly Elwell, Rebecca Solari, Hannah Andrew, Katherine Reed

Honors: Ryan Spencer, Corey Davis, Devon Jamieson, Clay Hoyt, Alexander Bacon

Grade 10 Principal’s Honors: Shivang Patel High

Honors: Brooke Therriault, Claire Bushee, Brandon Gamble, Elisabeth Budde

Honors: Charles Crawford, Maggie Murphy, Athina Adjawi, Avery Bucchieri, Austin Hawley, Nathan Mattison.

Grade 9 Principal’s Honors: Riley Lane

High Honors: Jena Staab

Honors: Laurie Lonergan, Elizabeth Fischer, Margaret Smith, Timothy Farrell, Zachary Rogers.

Grade 8 Principal’s Honors: Richard Davis

High Honors: Sofia Luciano

Honors: Tanner Robinson, Austin McAffry, Bailey Cross, Keyshawn King, Erin Murphy, Emily Blum, Samuel Irion, Damien Burdick, Bailey Therriault, Samuel Luciano.

Grade 7 Principal’s Honors: Aiden Peacock

Honors: Daniel Rhodes, Erin Kopeski, Colleen Blomberg, Alyssa Harrington

Grade 6 Principal’s Honors: Carolyn Crawford

Support our journalism. Subscribe today. →

High Honors: Mackenzie Paligo, Kolby Wilkins, Lilah Ward

Honors: Nicholas Grupe, Nasier Camp, Haley Mattison

Accelerated Program:

Grade 8 Principal’s Honors: Katheryn Berger

High Honors: Jamie Keel, Grace Smith

Honors: Geoffrey Gamble, Kaleigh Ward.

Grade 7 Principal’s Honors: Anna Freebern

High Honors: Elizabeth Spencer, Shaana Staab, Thomas Jayasankar

Honors: Sarah Hynds, Simon Metcalfe, Garrett Ufnar.

Grade 6 Principal’s Honors: Therese Belnap

Honors: Walter Berger.

Jaime Cameron graduates from SVC as valedictorian

BENNINGTON -- Jaime Cameron of Bennington graduated as Valedictorian and Summa Cum Laude with an associate in science degree in nursing from Southern Vermont College on May 10.

This spring, Cameron received an Academic Achievement Award in Nursing at the College’s Honors Convocation. She also received an Award for Application of Holistic Nursing.

Cameron is a graduate of Grace Christian School, and she is the daughter of Danelle and James Cameron of Bennington.

Matthew McClintock graduates from SVC as salutatorian

BENNINGTON -- Matthew McClintock of North Bennington graduated as Salutatorian and Magna Cum Laude with a bachelor of science degree in psychology from Southern Vermont College on May 10.

This spring, McClintock was inducted to Alpha Chi, a national scholarship recognition society. He was named to Provost list in 2013, which recognizes full-time students who have earned a minimum GPA of 3.25 during a semester.

McClintock is employed at Hannaford Supermarket and has volunteered at Project Against Violent Encounters.

McClintock is a graduate of Mount Anthony Union High School, and he is the son of Maureen and Lon McClintock of North Bennington.

Julia Davis awarded Jones ‘66 Journalism Fellowship

WILLIAMSTOWN, Mass. -- Williams College senior Julia Davis has been awarded the Jeffrey Owen Jones ‘66 Fellowship in

Journalism. The $10,000 grant is intended to assist a graduating senior in starting a career in journalism, either in traditional or new media.

Williams College announces Olmsted awards

WILLIAMSTOWN, Mass. -- Williams College will award the annual George Olmsted Jr. Class of 1924 Prize for Excellence in Secondary School Teaching to four outstanding high school teachers on Saturday, June 7, at Ivy Exercises.

The recipients are: Sara Barber-Just, an English teacher at Amherst Regional High School in Amherst, Massachusetts; Seth Hersch, a history teacher at Gwinnet School of Mathematics, Science, and Technology in Lawrenceville, Georgia; Brian McDonald, a history teacher at Charles E. Jordan High School in Durham, North Carolina; and Robert H. Shurtz, a physics and mathematics teacher at the Hawken School in Gates Mills, Ohio.

Each year, Williams seniors nominate high school teachers who played influential roles in their lives and learning. A committee of faculty, staff, and students chooses winners from among the nominees.

Recipients of the award receive $3,000, and an additional $2,500 is given to each recipient’s school. The Olmsted Prize was established in 1976 with an endowment from the estates of George Olmsted Jr. and his wife, Frances.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us.
We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.