Vt Law enforcement officials join a national effort to combat crimes of violence against women


WATERBURY -- Twenty three of Vermont's Law Enforcement leaders have been chosen from across the state to participate in the Vermont Law Enforcement Leadership Institute on Violence Against Women hosted by The International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP). Through the Institute experience, IACP intends to raise the response to violence against women crimes higher on law enforcement's agenda and support the adoption of best practices by the officers in the State of Vermont.

During the four-day Institute taking place in Burlington VT, participants will explore innovative approaches for investigating crimes of domestic violence, sexual assault, and stalking.

Additional attention will center on assessing agency performance and sharing challenges and solutions with law enforcement colleagues. In an effort to help law enforcement agencies enhance their response to crimes of violence against women, the Vermont Law Enforcement Leadership Institute will focus on planning and methods for effective resource allocation to help crime victims and hold perpetrators accountable. The participating law enforcement executives will be engaged in the development of action plans throughout the Institute in order to adopt new strategies for pro-active coordinated community collaboration upon returning to their departments.

Participant List:

* Deputy Chief Tim Bilodeau, University of Vermont Police Services, Burlington

* Chief Robbie Blish, Woodstock Police Department, Woodstock

* Chief Timothy Bombardier, Barre City Police Department, Barre

* Chief Aaron Cochran, Hardwick Police Department, Hardwick

* Sergeant Karl Ebbighausen, Hartford Police Department, Hartford

* Chief Anthony Facos, Montpelier Police Department, Montpelier

* Chief Joby Feccia, Waterbury Police Department, Waterbury

* Sergeant David Fox, Rutland County Sheriff's Department, Rutland

* Richard Gauthier, Vermont Criminal Justice Training Council, Pittsford

* Major Walter Goodell, Vermont State Police, Waterbury

* Major Glenn Hall, Vermont State Police, Waterbury

* Detective Jennifer Harlow, Newport Police Department, Newport

* Sheriff Samuel Hill, Washington County Sheriff's Department, Montpelier

* Chief Donald Hull, Stowe Police Department, Stowe

* Sheriff Roger Marcoux, Lamoille County Sheriff's Department, Hyde Park

* Chief George Merkel, Vergennes Police Department, Vergennes

* Chief Jennifer Morrison, Colchester Police Department, Colchester

* Officer Adam Petlock, Brattleboro Police Department, Brattleboro

* Lieutenant Donna Polk, Grand Isle County Sheriff's Department, North Hero

* Chief Michael Schirling, Burlington Police Department, Burlington

* Captain Scott Tucker, Rutland City Police Department, Rutland

* Chief Trevor Whipple, South Burlington Police Department, South Burlington

* Deputy Chief Jannine Wright, Burlington Police Department, Burlington

Attendance at the Institute is supported by a grant to the IACP from the United States Department of Justice, Office on Violence Against Women and the Vermont Grant to Encourage Arrest and Enforcement of Protection Orders Program.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions