Vermont State Colleges board won't change name of system


RANDOLPH, VT. >> The Vermont State Colleges board of trustees is not going to change the name of the system after one of the five institutions became a university.

The board made the decision Thursday in Randolph.

The system includes four public colleges and one university — Castleton University, Johnson State College, Lyndon State College, the Community College of Vermont and Vermont Technical College.

Castleton State College became Castleton University this summer after adding graduate programs and to attract more out-of-state and foreign students.

VSC distributed a survey to all faculty and staff this fall with three new names for the entire system, but a majority of those who responded to the survey opposed changing the name.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions