Vermont Conservation Voters endorses early slate of pro-environment candidates


MONTPELIER -- As the 2014 campaign season kicks into gear, Vermont Conservation Voters has given early endorsement to over three-dozen candidates for the state legislature.

VCV plans to present a full slate of endorsements in September that will include additional candidates, but decided to make an early round of endorsements for environmental leaders facing a challenger this election season.

"We have selected these candidates for early endorsement because they have particularly strong pro-environment track records, including their voting history over the course of their legislative careers and in the 2013-2014 biennium," said Lauren Hierl, political director for VCV.

"We want voters to know that these candidates - all of whom are in contested races this year - support Vermonters' environmental values," she said. "These are leaders who have consistently stood up for clean water, for Vermont's working landscape and downtowns, for reducing exposure to toxic chemicals, and for strong action on climate change."

"We are fortunate to have so many champions to support -- we'll need them, and new environmental leaders in the legislature -- so we can make significant progress on key priorities like cleaning up Lake Champlain and tackling climate change," Hierl said.

Below are VCV's early endorsements:


  • Bennington County: Brian Campion
  • Chittenden County: Tim Ashe; Philip Baruth; Virginia "Ginny" Lyons; Michael Sirotkin; David Zuckerman
  • Orange County: Mark MacDonald
  • Rutland County: Eldred French
  • Washington County: Anthony Pollina; Ann Cummings
  • Windham County: Jeanette White


  • Janet Ancel (Washington-6; Calais, Marshfield, Plainfield)
  • Clement Bissonnette (Chittenden-6-7; Burlington, Winooski)
  • William Botzow (Bennington-1; Pownal, Woodford)
  • Sarah Buxton (Windsor-Orange-1; Royalton, Tunbridge)
  • Joanna Cole (Chittenden-6-1; Burlington)
  • Rebecca Ellis (Washington-Chittenden; Bolton, Buel's Gore, Huntington, Waterbury)
  • Michael Fisher (Addison-4; Bristol, Lincoln, Monkton, Starksboro)
  • William Frank (Chittenden-3; Jericho, Underhill)
  • Anne Gallivan (Rutland-Windsor-1; Bridgewater, Chittenden, Killington, Mendon)
  • Mary Hooper (Washington-4; Montpelier)
  • Tim Jerman (Chittenden-8-2; Essex)
  • Mitzi Johnson (Grand Isle-Chittenden; Alburgh, Grand Isle, Isle La Motte, Milton, North Hero, South Hero)
  • Diane Lanpher (Addison-3; Addison, Ferrisburgh, Panton, Vergennes, Waltham)
  • Linda Martin (Lamoille-2; Belvidere, Hyde Park, Johnson, Wolcott)
  • Jim Masland (Windsor-Orange-2; Norwich, Sharon, Strafford, Thetford)
  • Mike McCarthy (Franklin-3-1; St. Albans City, St. Albans Town)
  • John Moran (Windham-Bennington; Dover, Readsboro, Searsburg, Somerset, Stamford, Wardsboro, Whitingham)
  • Betty Nuovo (Addison-1; Middlebury)
  • Carolyn Partridge (Windham-3; Athens, Brookline, Grafton, Rockingham, Westminster, Windham)
  • Herb Russell (Rutland-5-3; Rutland City)
  • Dave Sharpe (Addison-4; Bristol, Lincoln, Monkton, Starksboro)
  • Amy Sheldon (Addison-1; Middlebury)
  • Shap Smith (Lamoille-Washington; Elmore, Morristown, Woodbury, Worcester)
  • Tom Stevens (Washington-Chittenden; Bolton, Buel's Gore, Huntington, Waterbury)
  • George Till (Chittenden-3; Jericho, Underhill)
  • Linda Waite-Simpson (Chittenden-8-2; Essex)
  • Cindy Weed (Franklin-7; Enosburgh, Montgomery)
  • Mike Yantachka (Chittenden-4-1; Charlotte, Hinesburg)
  • Teo Zagar (Windsor-4-1; Barnard, Hartford, Pomfret).


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions