Town Meeting 2016: Rice elected, budget changes slightly in Wilmington


WILMINGTON >> Vince Rice was elected to the Selectboard for a two-year term.

Rice, a member of the town's Planning Commission, received 389 votes Tuesday to beat out Jamie Brunn who had 200 votes.

Town Manager Scott Murphy said the proposed general fund expenditure was amended to make way for an additional $8,000 for cemetery commissioners. The Cemetery Commission's overall budget went from $30,000 to $38,000 once approved, increasing the general fund expenditure to $1,716,656. The highway budget was approved at $1,318,689.

The town's fund for bridge rehabilitation also got a boost after Selectboard member Susie Haughwout proposed an amendment. In addition to the $100,000 the board suggested taking from the surplus, she encouraged taking another $130,000. That money will be raised through taxes.

The plan is to use the extra funds to address a bridge on Look Road, which is off Coldbrook Road and goes over Cold Brook.

"We've been working on the bridge this winter and hope to replace it in the summer," said Murphy, adding that rough estimates pegged costs at $300,000 and "maybe even more with design work that's involved. Maybe $330,000 all told."

An attempt to move July 4 fireworks to the general fund budget failed. The $6,250 item was previously included for the past 10 years.

Some residents supported moving it back while others wanted it to remain an expense paid for through revenue coming from the town's 1 percent local option tax, Murphy said. There are concerns the tax may not be around forever.

The Twin Valley budget was approved in Wilmington and Whitingham.

Other races in Wilmington went uncontested.

Therese Lounsbury was elected school director for three years after receiving 127 votes by write-in. Kathy Larsen will serve as a school director for two years.

Bob Fisher was elected town moderator. Susie Haughwout will continue serving as town clerk and Christine Richter will remain town treasurer. Listers will include Len Chapman for a three-year term, and Gerald Osler and Diane Schipke for one-year terms.

Peter Barton was elected first constable with Gary Wax as second constable. Pat Johnson was elected grand juror and town agent. Richard Covey will serve as cemetery commissioner. Carolyn Palmer was elected a library trustee.

Contact Chris Mays at or 802-254-2311, ext. 273.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions