Three reelected as Hoosick Falls, NY trustees


HOOSICK FALLS, NY — Three incumbents have been reelected to serve as village trustees.

Robert Downing, Ben Patten and Karen Sprague, of the Taxpayers Party, were all reelected to twoyear terms in Tuesday's village election.

Downing received 343 votes; Patten, 292; and Sprague, 343.

Two residents had challenged the incumbents: Brian Bushner ran under the New Water Party ticket and received 209 votes.

Keith P. Cipperly ran under the People First Party and received 116 votes.

Cipperly previously served two two-year terms as town supervisor for Hoosick, having bested former supervisor Marilyn Douglas in 2009. Cipperly was ousted after losing to the current supervisor Mark Surdham in the town's election in November 2013.

The mayor position will not be up for re-election until next year. Mayor David Borge was first elected for a two-year term in 2013 and again in 2015. In both instances, Borge ran unopposed. He previously served as a trustee, having been appointed to fill a vacancy in 2011 and then successfully re-elected in 2012.

Contact Edward Damon at 413-770-6979


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions