Stamford voter turnout minimal with no contentious races

Thursday March 7, 2013


North Adams Transcript

STAMFORD -- With no heated races, the annual town election this year saw a voter turnout of just over 20 percent.

Of the town’s 592 registered voters, 124 cast ballots in elections, Stamford Town Clerk Lori Shepard said. Comparatively, 249 came out to polls to vote last year, she said.

"It depends on who’s running and whether there’s any contentious races," Shepherd said about voter turnout.

The Select Board will see no changes following Tuesday’s election. David Bugbee was re-elected to a three-year term, and Nancy Bushika was elected to a two-year term.


A number of candidates were elected as write-ins: Mary Lou Wright was elected to a five-year term as cemetery commissioner with 45 votes, David Saldo was elected to a one-year term as town agent with five votes, Debbie St. Pierre was elected to a one-year term as auditor with three votes, and Dave Fierro was elected to a three-year term as auditor with two votes.

In uncontested elections, William Levine was elected to one-year terms as town moderator and school moderator, Duncan Honig was elected to a two-year term as school director, James Sarkis Jr. was elected to a three-year term as school director, Sally Bohl was elected to a one-year term as collector of delinquent taxes, Peter Chesbro was elected to a three-year term with two remaining as lister, Daniel Trudeau was elected to a three-year term as lister, and Judith Homgren was elected to a five-year term as library trustee.

A two-year term as auditor and a one-year term for grand juror remain unfulfilled.

Voters also cast ballots on six articles relating to the Southwest Vermont Regional Technical School District (SVRTSD.) Katie Bourn was elected to a one-year unexpired seat on the SVRTSD board, receiving 39 votes. Bourn won over Aaron Sullivan, who received 22 votes. Ellen M. Strohmaier was elected as SVRTSD treasurer with 37 votes, while candidate Laurie Linger received 25.

To fill another set of seats on the SVRTSD board, voters cast ballots for Gloria Alexander, 45 votes, Jessica Gulley-Ward, 43 votes, Leon Johnson, 32 votes, and Francis Kinney, 37 votes.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions