School News in Brief


Castleton announces two new graduate offerings: Athletic Leadership and Arts Administration

CASTLETON -- Castleton College is pleased to announce the addition of two new graduate programs to its ever-growing list of academic offerings.

Athletic Leadership and Arts Administration will join the graduate course offerings in the Summer of 2015.

Master of Science in Athletic Leadership is set to debut in Summer 2015. The 30-credit, professionally focused program prepares students for success in administrative and head coaching positions in educational-based athletic organizations through professional and applied studies. The degree is primarily online, with a short but important on-campus requirement and can be completed in either one or two years.

Master of Arts in Arts Administration is slated to begin in Summer 2015. The program is designed to prepare future leaders to meet the challenges presented in the fine and performing arts in the 21st century and to work within arts organizations to make significant and lasting impacts upon completion. The 30-credit degree consists primarily of online coursework but requires initial and culminating residencies at the Castleton campus. In addition to these two exciting programs, Castleton also offers a Master of Music Education, a Master of Arts in Theater, a Master of Arts in Education with a Specialization in Mathematics, a Master of Arts in Education: Curriculum and Instruction, a Master of Arts in Education: Special Education (non-licensure), and a Master of Science in Accounting.

To learn more, go to

Hoosick Falls Elementary School Honor Roll

HOOSICK FALLS, N.Y. -- Hoosick Falls Elementary School Honor Roll and Merit list, Fourth Marking Period:

Honor Roll:

Fourth Grade, Fifth Grade, Sixth Grade: Jacob Andrew, Faith Arnold, Owynn Arnold, Jay Betit, Dean Baisden, Emily Brownell, Cooper Cavanaugh, Aiyana Baker, Colin Cipperly, Michael Cornell, Zoey Becker, Brooke Cottrell, Emma Cross, Robert Bulson, Emily Gardner, Kara Cushman, Kailyn Burdick, Zoe Gress, Olivia Estes, Felicity Colegrove, Delilah Hoag, Ashtyn Green, Ryker Dorman, Quinn Kinney, Kenny Gregory, Ayla Fauler, Maxwell Kipp, Jaiboy Gulley, Elizabeth James, Collin MacDonald, Hunter Hathaway, Madelyn Kasulinous, Faye MacDonald, Allison Hathaway, Jessica Lohnes, Kaitlyn Maxon, Riley Hayes, Kendra Marshall, Emma O'Bryan, Alexandra Janowski, Maria Martinez, Yanira Perez Gomez, Connor Jones, Erin McCart, Hannah Rosenburg, Sydney Kasulinous, Michael McCray Jr., Emily Snow, Marissa Landry, Colin O'Hare, Logan Thayne, Rhiannon Lane, David Paulson, IV, Madeline Walker, Alexis L'Heureux, Rosabell Plusch, Molly McGuire, Angel Quinones Dones, Marley McLellan, Emilie Raczynski, Amber McNeil, Kylei Ruebel, Brody Mullen, Adrianna Sacilowski, Rylie Niles, Garrett Smith, Megan Perry, Grace Spiak, Kaitylyn Philpott, Caitlyn Stratton, Ceana Potter, Zachary Tomczak, Savanna Sprague, Stefan Wade, Justin Symonds, Molly Walker, Avarie Taylor, Honoria Warner, Tucker Thayne, Kodi York, Ramsey Webber, Tucker Webber

Merit list:

Fourth Grade, Fifth Grade, Sixth Grade: Noah Abbott, Justin Barcomb, Abigail Attanasio, Joshua Baccaro, Dezmond Bolster, Anessa Blakey, Jason Brown, Amber Brock, Katie Brooks, Alexander Bushee, Zhasmene Chapman, Caroline Cipperly, Joshua Colegrove, Austin Crandall, Sierra Crandall, Tanner Coon, Shayna Doyle, Coreena Decker, Kiley Cross, Mersadeys Fowler, Kaylee Denue, Carissa Davis, Julian Granger, Brenden Duncan, Ethan Elwell, Brianna Harmon, Kerissa Fisher, Brendan Grenoble, Ziena Hurlburt, Katelyn Goodermote, Jeremy Gress, Elizabeth King, Shaylyn Graham, Jania-Lee Harris, Ryan LaPorte, Dillon Grogan, Brady Hathaway, Macy Lindsey, Kelsey Haynes, Colin King, Juliana Matera, Ally Hoag, Lyric Kriner, Mackenzie McBride-Keays, Leighton Holbritter, Christopher McCart-Rayner, Odessa Patterson, Nevaeh Keyes, Joshua Mesa-Mino, Alex Pieniazek, Alaura Lasher, William Shiland, Connor Powers, Ryan Maser, Slade Rice, Kaylee Maynard, Thomas Richard, Amy Perry, Mikayla Smith, Abigail Philpott, Kayla Snow, Ember Poore, Caroline Still, Alyssa Richter, Taylor Schumann, Karlie Telford, Evan Webster, Samuel Wickenden.

Massachusetts Maritime Academy president's list

CAP COD, Mass. -- Massachusetts Maritime Academy has recently named local student Cadet Elliot Lewis to the president's list.

Seyferth receives Fulbright Award

HANOVER, N.H. -- Elisabeth Seyferth of Dartmouth College has been awarded a Fulbright U.S. Student Program grant to Germany in Biology, the United States Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board announced recently.

Seyferth is one of over 1,800 U.S. citizens who will travel abroad for the 2014-2015 academic year through the Fulbright U.S. Student Program.

Recipients of Fulbright grants are selected on the basis of academic and professional achievement, as well as demonstrated leadership potential.

Local resident receives award at Nichols College Commencement

DUDLEY, Mass. -- In addition to graduating, Meaghan Douglass of Eagle Bridge, N.Y. received an individual award (the Zeta Alpha Phi Award for outstanding achievement in international business) at the 2014 commencement ceremony of Nichols College.

Local students graduate from RIT

ROCHESTER, N.Y. -- The following local residents graduated from Rochester Institute of Technology: Kyle Ball of Eagle Bridge, N.Y., received a Bachelor of Science degree in mechanical engineering from RIT's Kate Gleason College of Engineering. Kelby Moriarty of Eagle Bridge, N.Y., received a Bachelor of Science degree in diagnostic medical sonography from RIT's College of Health Sciences and Technology.

Saint Michael's College graduates

COLCHESTER -- Paul Palladino, son of Alma and Dominic Palladino of Bennington, graduated in May from Saint Michael's College with a bachelor's degree in Media Studies and Digital Arts in the Honors Program, and was named to "Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges."

Bellevue University announces graduates

BELLEVUE, Neb. -- Bellevue University proudly acknowledges the accomplishments of the following local student who have earned a degree from January through June 2014: Sharron Harrington, of Bennington, who received her BS in Behavioral Science, Summa Cum Laude.

Le Moyne College dean's list

SYRACUSE, N.Y. -- Catherine Sharkey of Bennington, a Peace and Global Studies major who recently completed junior year at Le Moyne College, has been named to the dean's list for the 2014 spring semester.

Local student graduates from Massachusetts College of Art and Design

BOSTON, Mass. -- Spencer Murdock of Arlington was awarded a Bachelor of Fine Arts in Studio for Interrelated Media from Massachusetts College of Art and Design during an outdoor ceremony held at the Blue Hills Bank Pavilion on Boston's waterfront on Friday, May 23, 2014.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions