North Bennington Outdoor Sculpture Show to return for 19th year


NORTH BENNINGTON — For the 19th consecutive year, the village of North Bennington will welcome an outdoor sculpture show, which will run through October.

The North Bennington Outdoor Sculpture Show, which will feature work by both local and nationally known artists, will open with a reception on Saturday July 23, from 4 p.m. to 8 p.m. at the North Bennington Sculpture Park, which is adjacent to the North Bennington Post Office and the Vermont Arts Exchange. The show will feature the work of 37 artists, 10 of whom are local. The sculptures will appear in the park, at the train station, and at other locations around Main Street. The reception is free and open to the public. The show will run through October 23.

The artists hail from Vermont, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, New York, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania. The show has been curated by Joe Chirchirillo for the past four years, and is sponsored in part by the Fund for North Bennington, the Sage City Syndicate, Paran Recreations, and the Vermont Arts Exchange.

Most of the sculptures will be installed starting the week prior to the event. The local sculptors are Pownal state Rep. Bill Botzow, VAE co-founder Matthew Perry, Kristen Blaker, Michael Biddy, Fred X Brownstein, Chirchirillo, Rita Dee, Autumn Doyle, Matthew Marks, and Gregory Smith.

According to Chirchirillo, the show was founded by local mason Joe McGovern and Bennington College sculpture professor Willard Boepple. Boepple showcased the work of some of his students on land next to McGovern's garage. One of those students was Anthony Cafritz, founder of Salem Art Works, in Salem, N.Y. Three artists from that group will have work featured in the show: Michael Bonadio, Zac Ward, and Chase Winker.

Other sculptors who will have works in the show include Ethan Ames, Taylor Apostol, Freedom Baird, Peter Barrett, Patrick Camut, Jodi Carlson, Dave Channon, Charlet Davenport, Drew Goerlitz, Michael Guadagno, Bruce Hathaway, Stephen Klema, Eric David Laxman, Lin Lisberger, Peter Lundberg, Philip Marshall, Evan Morse, Nick Santoro, Mariam Shah, Christopher Spinozzi, Jamie Townsend, Bob Turan, miChelle Vara, John Wilkinson, and Bernie Zubrowski.

Derek Carson can be reached for comment at 802-447-7567, ext. 122.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions