MAU boys propel South in all-star win


WINDSOR >> On the final day of the Vermont basketball season, the Mount Anthony seniors that competed in the Division 1 and 2 boys game were still making an impact.

Jonas Parker led all players with 16 points and Tyler Champagne added 13, including 7-for-8 from the line in the final minutes to help the South to a 96-91 win in the Vermont Basketball Coaches Association senior all-star game at Windsor High School on Saturday.

The players are put together in 'shifts' to give each player 12 minutes of playing time for the game. The MAU players were added to the last shift — the final six minutes of the game — with the game in the balance.

Champagne was fouled as the North tried to extend the game and he put the win away with a near-perfect performance from the foul line.

Damon Burgess was the third Mount Anthony player on the South team, but did not score in his time on the court.

Out of the four games on Saturday — Division 1-2 boys, 1-2 girls, 3-4 boys and 3-4 girls — the Southern teams won three.

The 3-4 boys scored an 86-75 win over their Northern counterparts, while the 3-4 girls edged the North, 61-54.

The only Northern team to win was the 1-2 girls, a 63-46 victory.

There were three local players in that game, with Mount Anthony's Kathryn Frasier and Burr and Burton Academy's Hannah Nicholson and Tessa Roberts.

Each contributed, with Frasier's seven points, Nicholson's six and Roberts' five.

"Our goal is to make it a memorable event for all those playing in possibly their last game and I think we did that," said VBCA executive director Dave Fredericksen. "It's hectic (to put it together), but I thought it was a great day."

There was a 3-point contest as well and the most profilic shooter on the day, regardless of gender or division was Brattleboro's Dylan DeJordy, who hit 20 three-pointers in a minute to win.

In between the games, the players of the year were acknowledged. CVU's Laurel Jaunich won it for the second year in a row for the 4-time defending champion Redhawks, while Rice's Ben Shungu won it on the boys side, the second straight year the award went to a Rice player after Kendrick Gray in 2014-15.

The coaches of the year also had their due. Awards went to Enosburg's Gary Geddes, Chelsea's Gordon Barnaby, Lake Region's James Ingalls, Proctor's Jake Eaton, CVU's Ute Otley, Union-32's Travis Paquet, CVU's Mike Osborne, and U-32's Dan Gauthier.

The Dream Dozens were officially announced, with two local players receiving recognition — Mount Anthony's Madison Little and Burr and Burton Academy's Carter Vickers.

Fredericksen said he believed the attendance was one of the highest in his 16 years running the VBCA's post-season event.

Mount Anthony coach Dan Sleeman was honored for reaching his 200th career win, a game he won against Mill River in December, just before Christmas.

"It's nice to see any of your [former] players do well in anything," said Fredericksen, who coached Sleeman in the late 1980s and early 1990s at MAU. "You hope you had a positive effect on them."

A handful of other coaches were honored for milestone victories, including Twin Valley's Buddy Hayford, who won his 400th game earlier this season as well.

Other awards issued were the Tristan Southworth award, given to Williamstown's Shayna Guild, while the Tommy Fennell award went to John (Jacko) Roche from Twin Valley.

"That was one of the highlights of the whole day," Fredericksen said. "We read the award, he came out and the whole crowd gave him a standing ovation. It was quite a moving award."


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions