Incumbents win in Bennington

Wednesday November 7, 2012


Staff Writer

BENNINGTON -- Incumbents reigned Tuesday in local contests that were largely uncontested, with the exception of Bennington's two House districts.

Still, even the two contested races in Bennington's 2-1 and 2-2 House districts turned out to be landslides. In the 2-2 district, which includes part of Bennington and the Village of North Bennington, Democratic Reps. Brian Campion and Timothy Corcoran II easily defeated Republican Challenger Warren Roaf.

Corcoran, who will now serve a sixth term in the Vermont House, led the way with 2,381 votes, followed by Campion, who secured a second term, with 1,979 votes. Roaf, the former principal of Mount Anthony Union Middle School and a first-time candidate, received 890 votes.

"I'd like to thank my constituents for voting for me. It's an honor to serve the district," Corcoran said.

He said he looks forward to working on health care reform and balancing the budget. "It's going to be a full agenda and I look forward to tackling the issues," Corcoran said.

Campion, too, said he looks forward to addressing health care reform in the next legislative biennium.

"I'm excited to get back up there with Tim. We've got an awful lot of work to do. We've got to finish up on the health care bill, without a doubt. It's a big priority for me. I'm excited for the next two months to work with Tim and others to get prepared before we head back up there," he said.

In the 2-2 district, meanwhile, Democratic Rep. Ann Mook and Republican Rep. Mary Morrissey will return to Montpelier in January after they easily finished ahead of Democrat Dale Gerity, who was also a first-time candidate. Morrissey and Mook tied with 1,896 votes. Gerrity tallied 890 votes.

"I'm honored that they feel that I've doing a good job and serving them well. I look forward to the next two years," Mook said.

Morrissey could not be reached for comment.

Around the county, other incumbents cruised to victory without any challengers. Democratic State Sens. Dick Sears and Bob Hartwell will return to the Vermont Senate after drawing no opponents.

Incumbent Reps, Bill Botzow, D-Pownal/Woodford, Jeff Wilson, D-Manchester, Cynthia Browning, D-Arlington, Alice Miller, D-Shaftsbury, and Patti Komline, R-Dorset were re-elected in uncontested races.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions