Five to seek three trustee seats in Hoosick Falls, NY


HOOSICK FALLS, NY — Five individuals will vie for three trustee positions in the March 15 village election.

Village Board incumbents Robert Downing, Ben Patten and Karen Sprague will seek new two-year terms under the Taxpayers Party ticket.

Also seeking a seat on the board is Brian Bushner, who is running under the New Water Party, and Keith P. Cipperly, running under the People First Party.

Seats currently held by Ric DiDonato, trustee and deputy mayor, and trustees Kevin O'Malley and Robert Ryan are not up for re-election.

The mayor position will not be up for re-election until next year. Mayor David Borge was first elected for a two-year term in 2013 and again in 2015. In both instances, Borge ran unopposed. He previously served as a trustee, having been appointed to fill a vacancy in 2011 and then successfully re-elected in 2012.

Cipperly previously served two two-year terms as town supervisor for Hoosick, having bested former supervisor Marilyn Douglas in 2009. Cipperly was ousted after losing to the current supervisor, Mark Surdham, in the town's election in November 2013.

The village's election will be held at the Municipal Building at 24 Main St. on Tuesday, March 15, from noon to 9 p.m.

Contact Edward Damon at 413-770-6979


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions