Education News in Brief


Local residents make the dean’s list at SUNY New Paltz

NEW PALTZ, N.Y. -- SUNY New Paltz proudly congratulates the following local residents for being named to the spring 2014 dean’s list:

Laura Lanchantin, a resident of Cambridge. Lanchantin’s major is painting.

Rose Qualtere-Burcher, a resident of Buskirk. Qualtere-Burcher’s major is psychology.

Charlotte Monaghan, a resident of Bennington, Vt. Monaghan’s major is music.

Dean’s list designation is reserved for students who excel academically and earn at least a 3.3 GPA in a semester with a full-time course load.

Rantilla named to JMU dean’s list

HARRISONBURG, Va. -- Bennington resident, Emily Elizabeth Ranttila, has been named to the dean’s list at James Madison University for the spring 2014 semester. Students who earn dean’s list honors must carry at least 12 graded credit hours and earn a GPA of between 3.5 and 3.899. Ranttila is a sophomore whose major is music.

Local students named to Hamilton dean’s list

CLINTON, N.Y. -- The following local students have been named to the dean’s list at Hamilton College for the 2014 spring semester:

Hunter J. Dansin, son of Brian and Theresa Dansin of Cambridge. Dansin, a rising junior majoring in Chinese, is a graduate of Cambridge Central School District.

Noah B. Lowenthal, son of Wilhelmina Margalis and Richard Lowenthal of North Bennington, Vt. Lowenthal, a rising junior majoring in computer science, is a graduate of The Long Trail School.

Ianna M. Recco, daughter of Maria and John Recco of Hoosick. Recco, a rising junior majoring in art history and classical studies, is a graduate of Emma Willard School.

To be named to the dean’s list, a student must have carried throughout the semester a course load of four or more graded credits with an average of 3.5 or above.

Sweet named to dean’s list at Lyndon State

LYNDONVILLE -- Brianna Sweet of Bennington was named to the Spring 2014 dean’s list at Lyndon State College. For inclusion on the dean’s list, a student must have completed at least 12 graded credits with no incomplete or failing grades and a minimum GPA of 3.50. Sweet is a senior majoring in human services.

Bisson named to Clarkson University dean’s list

POTSDAM, N.Y. -- Joshua L. Bisson of Bennington, Vt., a junior majoring in chemical engineering, was named to the dean’s list for the spring 2014 semester at Clarkson University.

Dean’s list students must achieve a minimum 3.25 GPA and also carry at least 14 credit hours.

Lemieux named to dean’s list at the University of New Haven

WEST HAVEN, Conn. -- Haley Lemieux of Shaftsbury, Vt., was named to the dean’s list at the University of New Haven for the spring 2014 semester. Full-time undergraduate students must have a 3.50 or better cumulative GPA for the semester to be eligible for the dean’s list.

VSAC awards scholarships for 2014-15

WINOOSKI -- Vermont Student Assistance Corp. recently announced the list of Bennington County students selected for more than 132 scholarship programs sponsored by state organizations, the federal government, civic groups and individuals to benefit Vermonters pursuing necessary education and training after high school.

The following local students were singled out for scholarships:

Jennica Lyn-Skidmore of Arlington, Andrew Brandmeyer, Karissa Crandall, Jenna Crowley, Corali Gauman, Firdous Madany, Nicholas Pembroke and Cheyanne Woodward of Bennington, Mekdes Cavallaro of East Arlington, Gecaunna Ellis and Henry Rogers of Manchester, Shelby Harkins and Haylee Manktelow of Pownal, Taylor Lafo of Readsboro and Robyn Neil of West Rupert for the VSAC Next Generation Initiative Scholarship.

Renee Elwell, Laticia Gordon, Foram Patel, Austin Russo, Courtney Sausville, Danielle Thompson of Bennington, Jamie Barton of Manchester Center, Alexandria Dufresne of North Bennington for a Vermont Endowment Scholarship.

Steven Foucher of Bennington for an Emily Lester Vermont Opportunity Scholarship.

Emily Gallina, Haley Osgood, Foram Patel, Austin Russo, Courtney Sausville, Danielle Thompson of Bennington, Alexandria Dufresne of North Bennington, Mariah Armstrong of Pownal and Jamie Murphy of Shaftsbury for a General Educational Fund, Inc. Scholarship.

Luke Keenan and Haley Osgood of Bennington, Brigheil Lalor of Manchester Center, Kendra Wilson of Rupert, Tia Brown of Stamford and Caitlin Saunders of Sunderland for a Vermont Honor Scholarship.

Haley Osgood of Bennington for a David A. Hicks Memorial Scholarship.

Courtney Sausville of Bennington and Emily Knudsen of Manchester Center for a Vermont John H. Chafee Education and Training Scholarship.

Joseph Johnson of Manchester Center for a National Guard Educational Assistance Program.

Scholarships, unlike grants, are competitive, meaning that eligible applicants vie for a limited number of awards. Scholarships are typically based on factors unique to each scholarship, including residency, degree program or major, academic achievement, extracurricular activities, and in some cases, financial need.

To date, VSAC has received applications from 2,861 students and has awarded 1,877 scholarships worth about $5.5 million.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions