• A solution needs a defined problem - 11/19/2014 07:51 PM EST
  •  
    Roses to MAUHS students, staff on successful dance

    11/21/2014 10:25 PM EST
    ROSES to the students and staff of Mount Anthony Union High School on their recent successful school dance, held Nov. 8. After the school's Homecoming dance was canceled earlier this school year because of inappropriate dancing, the MAUHS community put their heads together to find a way to hold a dance that would be both enjoyable and appropriate. 
    Full Story
    Drop in oil prices is mostly a good thing
    11/20/2014 10:13 PM EST - Lower oil prices are on balance clearly good for the United States — putting money in the pockets of the beleaguered middle class — but of course in Colorado the picture is more complicated. As Denver Post reporter Aldo Svaldi pointed out this week, "Oil and gas severance taxes totaled $318. Full Story

     
     
     
    MOST RECENT
    Letters to the Editor

    11/21/2014 10:28 PM EST
    Shires: It's not over yet This letter is being written to correct any misconceptions that the Shires low-income housing project proposed for Eden Way (between Silver and South Streets) is set to build. It is not. We have lost to the Development Review Board, but the project still has to be approved under Act 250 and withstand our appeal to the Environmental Court. 
    Full Story
    Letters to the editor
    11/20/2014 10:14 PM EST - The real icons of Bennington When it comes to Bennington we think of the inanimate relics of the Monument, the Old First Church and maybe the McCullough Mansion when we think of the iconic "things" that give us some geographic and architectural bearing, but who remembers the men and women that made those things iconic? Full Story

    Your opinions: Shop local, support small businesses
    11/20/2014 12:05 PM EST - Shop local, support small businesses The campaign to "shop small" on the Saturday after Thanksgiving started in 2010 as an effort to give small businesses -- many struggling to get out of the red after a long recession -- a much needed shot in the arm. Since then, it has become a powerful movement to give back to the brick-and-mortar establishments that line our Main Streets and keep our Full Story

    Your Opinions
    11/19/2014 09:28 PM EST - Dire surrender by voters in midterms In polls, Americans overwhelmingly favor universal health care, raises in the minimum wage, increased taxation of the wealthy, free public education, the right of workers to organize, anti-pollution laws and preservation of the environment, women's reproductive rights, increase in Social Security, reduction of student debt and government oversight of food, Full Story

    Your opinions
    11/18/2014 07:29 PM EST - Come down and join us for a blood drive Nov. 24 The Ladies Auxiliary Bennington unit #13 of the American Legion at 225 Northside Drive is hosting a blood drive on Nov. 24 from 1 to 6 p.m. What with the Thanksgiving holiday that week also, please try to take the time (approximately an hour) to come down and donate blood. Full Story

    Letters: Missing the 'old' Banner enough to say goodbye
    11/17/2014 09:43 PM EST - I'm sorry, but after nearly 25 years as a subscriber, I'll not be continuing my Bennington Banner subscription. The cost has been inching up over the years, as has everything else. I understand that. If the content were the same, I'd probably still subscribe. Full Story

    Your opinions
    11/16/2014 12:27 PM EST - Thank you — the word of the day To all of you who supported us at the Raise the Roof Fundraiser at the Vermont Arts Exchange a couple of weeks ago. Thank you to our friends, family, neighbors, coworkers, organizers, musicians and host Matt Perry. It was very humbling standing before all of you and accepting all of the loving support. Full Story

    Joey Chestnut devours turkey to win eating contest

    MASHANTUCKET, Conn. (AP) — Competitive eater Joey Chestnut has won a turkey-eating contest in Connecticut, setting a record by devouring an entire bird. Full Story
    (Jack Plunkett/Jack Plunkett/Invision/AP)
    Iggy Azalea, Taylor Swift set for 2014 AMAs

    Is this the American Music Awards or the Australian Music Awards? Iggy Azalea, who was born Down Under, is the lead nominee at Sunday's show. Full Story