• Flu season is here. Get vaccinated. - 11/25/2014 08:59 PM EST
  • On Liberty: It shouldn't really matter - 11/25/2014 12:21 PM EST
  • Reality Check: Lessons learned - 11/24/2014 10:22 PM EST
  •  
    Our opinion: It's not just Ferguson that must do better

    11/26/2014 11:49 PM EST
    The grand jury decision was no more surprising than the rioting that followed it. The events in Ferguson, Missouri, continue to appear pre-ordained to expose every fissure in America's black-white divide. When Darren Wilson, a white police officer, shot and killed an unarmed black teenager, Michael Brown, in August, violent protests followed and were in turn followed by the latest high-profile 
    Full Story
    After Hagel, more changes at Defense
    11/25/2014 08:59 PM EST - And so it goes. Yet another defense secretary has announced he will leave the Obama administration under pressure. This makes the third head of the Pentagon to depart in the six years President Barack Obama has been in office. The White House announced that Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel had submitted his resignation after he and President Obama "both determined that it was time for new Full Story

     
     
     
    MOST RECENT
    Letters to the Editor

    11/26/2014 11:30 PM EST
    Yes to a tax on carbon pollution When Tropical Storm Irene came through in 2011, my wife and I were snug in our West Brattleboro home and never even lost electrical power. Less than half a mile down the hill, however, the Whetstone Brook was flowing over the bridge at the bottom of Meadowbrook Road, already having irreparably damaged many mobile homes and severely impacted a number of important 
    Full Story
    Letters: Support local business
    11/26/2014 02:16 PM EST - Support local businesses When I was growing up here in Bennington, the downtown was a vibrant gathering place for shopping and socializing. There were few, if any, chain stores and we all enjoyed a strong, middle-class standard of living - partly as a result of our locally owned stores. This year we have seen more small businesses and restaurants close and I hope this is a trend that can be Full Story

    Letters to the Editor
    11/24/2014 10:28 PM EST - Speak up for campaign finance reform This country was founded on the idea that all people deserve an equal voice in politics. The right to vote grants us the right to make our needs a priority in the eyes of the government. However, those who represent us often overlook these needs in favor of the interest of large corporations and super PACs who pour billions of dollars into politics each year. Full Story

    Letters: Attacking teachers won't make our schools better
    11/24/2014 02:45 PM EST - Attacking teachers won't make our schools better Instead of renewing calls to work with the state's educators to make our schools even better for our children, the Vermont School Boards Association over the weekend chose to attack the men and women in Vermont's classrooms. After many, many years of state level collaboration between teachers and school boards, their statewide association now seems Full Story

    Letters to the Editor
    11/21/2014 10:28 PM EST - Shires: It's not over yet This letter is being written to correct any misconceptions that the Shires low-income housing project proposed for Eden Way (between Silver and South Streets) is set to build. It is not. We have lost to the Development Review Board, but the project still has to be approved under Act 250 and withstand our appeal to the Environmental Court. Full Story

    Letters to the editor
    11/20/2014 10:14 PM EST - The real icons of Bennington When it comes to Bennington we think of the inanimate relics of the Monument, the Old First Church and maybe the McCullough Mansion when we think of the iconic "things" that give us some geographic and architectural bearing, but who remembers the men and women that made those things iconic? Full Story

    Your opinions: Shop local, support small businesses
    11/20/2014 12:05 PM EST - Shop local, support small businesses The campaign to "shop small" on the Saturday after Thanksgiving started in 2010 as an effort to give small businesses -- many struggling to get out of the red after a long recession -- a much needed shot in the arm. Since then, it has become a powerful movement to give back to the brick-and-mortar establishments that line our Main Streets and keep our Full Story

    (Jacques Brinon/AP)
    Who's behind Christmas tree at Paris' Notre Dame?

    PARIS (AP) — Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris has a Christmas tree this year thanks to an unusual patron: the Russian government. Full Story
    (Julio Cortez/AP)
    Crowds celebrate at Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade

    NEW YORK (AP) — Spectators of all ages are oohing and ahhing as giant inflated characters wind their way through Manhattan in the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade. Full Story