Wednesday March 6, 2013

ARLINGTON -- Voters elected Maureen Harvey over Kenneth "K. John" Smith to a two-year School Board seat, with Harvey receiving 216 votes and Smith getting 208. Smith also ran unopposed for a two-year seat on the Select Board and received 334 votes.

Todd Wilkins handily won reelection to his three-year School Board seat, netting 327 votes to Gary F. Harrington’s 86.

The school budget of $6,021,379 passed with 293 in favor and 138 against.

At Monday night’s floor meeting the town budget of $1,237,562 with $911,485 to be raised through taxes passed. The number represents a 4.3 percent increase over last year. All the ballot articles passed.

Of the 1,765 registered voters, 443 cast ballots.

-- Keith Whitcomb Jr.